2018 NHL Awards: Tracking the Trophy Winners

1 News Net

1 News - 1 Movies - 1 Music - 1 eBooks - 1 Search


The 2017-18 season left us all with plenty to discuss, though we’re guessing that Wednesday’s NHL Awards won’t due much to quell the great MVP debate over Taylor Hall, Nathan MacKinnon, Connor McDavid and Anze Kopitar.

While several players will take home an extra trophy or two from Las Vegas—sorry, folks, the Capitals will be hanging on to the Stanley Cup—the arguments will rage on long after the hardware is handed out.

Here’s who won on Wednesday night: 

Ted Lindsay Award

Given to the “most outstanding player” in the NHL.


McDavid wins the Ted Lindsay Award for the second straight time after winning the league’s scoring title for a second conescutive season—all before turning 22. “I’m actually shocked,” he said. “To the city of Edmonton, thanks for being patient with us this year and continuing the support us. We’ll be back, I promise.” 

Finalists: Taylor Hall (NJD), Connor McDavid (EDM), Nathan MacKinnon (COL)

Voters: NHL Players Association members

Hart Memorial Trophy 

Given to the player judged to be the most valuable to his team.

Finalists: Taylor Hall (NJD), Anze Kopitar (LAK), Nathan MacKinnon (COL)

Voters: Professional Hockey Writers’ Association

Calder Memorial Trophy 

Given to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the NHL.

Finalists: Mathew Barzal (NYI), Brock Boeser (VAN), Clayton Keller (ARI)

Voters: Professional Hockey Writers’ Association

Vezina Trophy

Given to the goalkeeper adjudged to be the best at this position.

Finalists: Connor Hellebuyk (WPG), Pekka Rinne (NSH), Andrei Vasilevskiy (TBL)

Voters: NHL General Managers

James Norris Memorial Trophy

Given to the defenseman who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-round ability in the position.

Finalists: Drew Doughty (LAK), Victor Hedman (TBL), P.K. Subban (NSH)


Frank J. Selke Trophy

Given to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game.

Finalists: Patrice Bergeron (BOS), Sean Couturier (PHI), Anze Kopitar (LAK)

Voters: PHWA

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy

Given to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.

Finalists: Aleksander Barkov (FLA), William Karlsson (VGK), Ryan O’Reilly (BUF)

Voters: PHWA

Jack Adams Award

Given to the coach adjudged to have contributed the most to his team’s success.

Finalists: Jared Bednar (COL), Bruce Cassidy (BOS), Gerard Gallant (VGK)

Voters: NHL Broadcasters Association members

King Clancy Trophy

Given to the player who best exemplifies leadership on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community.

Finalists: Daniel and Henrik Sedin (VAN), P.K. Subban (NSH), Jason Zucker (MIN)

Voters: Committee of NHL executives, lead by Commissioner Gary Bettman and Deputy Commissioner Bill Daly

William Jennings Trophy

Given to the goalkeeper(s) having played a minimum of 25 games for the team with the fewest goals scored against it, selected based on regular-season play.

Winner: Jonathan Quick (LAK)

Quick allowed 203 goals on the season—the highest total by a winner since Dominik Hasek and Grant Fuhr gave up 219 in 1993-94—helping the Kings to the top wild card spot in the Western Conference and earning his second Jennings Trophy. 

Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award 

Given “to the player who exemplifies great leadership qualities to his team, on and off the ice during the regular season.”

Finalists: Deryk Engelland (VGK), Wayne Simmonds (PHI), Blake Wheeler (WPG)

Voters: Mark Messier

General Manager of the Year

Presented to recognize the work of the league’s GMs.

Finalists: Kevin Cheveldayoff (WPG), George McPhee (VGK), Steve Yzerman (TBL)

Voters: GMs, a panel of executives, print and broadcast media

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy

Given to the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey.

Finalists: Brian Boyle (NJD), Roberto Luongo (FLA), Jordan Staal (CAR)

Voters: PHWA

1 News Net

1 News - 1 Movies - 1 Music - 1 eBooks - 1 Search


Leave a Reply